

Nebraska Democratic Party Virtual State Convention Sunday, June 14, 2020 at 1:00pm

Welcome – Jim Rogers, Executive Director

Review of Voting Process/Technology – Jim Rogers

Convention called to Order – Chair Kleeb at 1:20pm

Moment of Silence

National Anthem – Brian Whitecalf by video

Remarks – Senator Kate Bolz – Candidate for House of Representatives CD1

Video Remarks – Vice President Joe Biden, Candidate US President

Motion to elect Delegation Chairs by Judy Vohland, LD35; seconded by John Yoalum, LD27, carried by voice vote.

Report of Committee on Credentials – Patty Zieg, Chair, 455 delegates, 144 alternates

Motion to adopt the credentials report as presented, by Nathan Zing, carried by vote 235 yes, 1 no.

Roll Call - Quorum 310 Delegates present

Adoption of the Convention Rules and Convention Agenda

Motion to adopt the convention rules by John Yoakum, LD 27, seconded by Shirl Mora James, LD 30; motion carried by vote 239 yes, 2 no.

Motion to adopt the convention agenda by Judy Vohland, LD 27, seconded by Stephanie Mateja, LD 46; motion carried by vote 235 yes, 2 no.

Report of State Convention Committee and Election of Permanent Convention Officers – Stephanie Mateja, Chair

Nominations for permanent officers of the 2020 Convention:

Chair – Senator Justin Wayne

Vice Chair – Patty Zieg

Secretary – Charlene Ligon

Sergeant at Arms – Brent Comstock

Motion to close nominations and elect the permanent convention officers as a block by Ben Cass, LD 7, seconded by Judy Vohland, LD 35, carried by vote Yes – 235, No – 3.

Senator Justin Wayne takes the podium as Chair of the Convention.

Congressional District Caucuses Reports

CD 1 Report – John Yoakum, Chair

Officers Elected - John Yoakum, Chair; Marthaellen Florence, Vice Chair

District Level Delegates – Sean Flowerday, William Forsee, Joe Nigro, Joe Shaw, Gina Frank, Charlene Ligon, Christa Yoakum

SCC Member Elected -

LD1 - Delegate - Wendy Abdulai, Alternate - Janet Kirkendahl

LD2 - Delegates - Mark Minchow, Marsha Babcock

LD3 - Delegates - William Forsee, Marta Nieves

LD16 - Delegates - Holly Bonasera. Jo-El Chiles

LD22 - Delegate - Tom Havelka

LD23 - Delegate-Jennifer Norris

LD24 - Delegates - Alex Kufeldt, Shannon Graves

LD25 - Delegate - Thomas Green

LD26 - Delegate - Coutney Lyons Breitsreutz, Alternate - Patricia French

LD29 - Delegate - Hannah Wroblewski

LD45 – Delegates – Roy Gertig, Nancy Scott

LD46 - Delegate - Jennifer Wendeline

CD 2 Report - Ben Cass, Chair

Officers Elected - Ben Cass, Chair; Anna Marasco, Vice Chair

District Level Delegates – Spencer Danner, Preston Love Jr, Trevor Fitzgerald, Ben Cass, Dee Austin, Dulce Sherman, Kimara Snipe, Gladys Harrison, Lacey Merica, Alternate CJ King

SCC Members Elected

LD2 - Delegates - Mark Minchow, Marsha Babcock

LD3 - Delegates - William Forsee, Marta Nieves

LD4 – Delegate – Robert Myers

- LD5 Delegates Evan Schmeits, Kimara Snipe
- LD6 Delegates Clarence King, Maureen Monahan
- LD8 Delegates John Wees, Melina Cohen
- LD9 Delegates Mark Hoeger, Patricia Zieg; Alternates Nicholas Miller, Morgann Freeman
- LD12 Delegate Trevor Fitzgerald
- LD13 Delegates Preston Love, Precious McKesson
- LD14 Delegates George Lippert, Rachel Carraher; Alternates Robert Carraher, Peg O'Dea Lippert
- LD20 Delegates Nathan Johnson, Amy Himes
- LD39 Delegate William Armburst
- LD49 Delegate Lorri Kile

CD 3 Report – Judy Vohland, Chair

Officers Elected – Judy Vohland, Chair; Terry Sigler, Vice Chair

District Level Delegates – James Doc Moore, Paul Theobald, Cynthia LaMere, Judy Vohland

SCC Member Elected -

- LD1 Delegate Wendy Abdulai, Alternate Janet Kirkendahl
- **LD24** Delegates Alex Kufeldt, Shannon Graves
- **LD33** Delegates Rom Gunung, Kathy Jensen; Alternate Dianne Norris
- **LD35** Delegate Brian Whitecalf
- LD36 Delegate Megan Crawford; Alternate Ann Trullinger
- LD37 Delegate Kathleen "Kit" Alff
- LD38 Delegates Jerrell Johnson, Elena Olson King
- **LD42** Delegates Terry Sigler, Lauree Sigler; Alternates Shaun Baker, Susan Conrad
- LD43 Delegates Bud Pettigrew, Becky Potmesil; Alternate Roger Wess
- LD44 Delegate Phillip Lyons
- LD47 Delegates James Doc Moore, Ann Klein
- LD48 Delegates Ryan Griffin, Marci Docekal

Report of Nomination Committee – Roger Morgan, Chair

Motion to accept the nominations of all candidates who filled with the NDP by May 1st deadline and received the results from the ballots that were returned by Judy Vohland, seconded by Ben Cass, LD7; carried by vote yes – 232, No -2.

Election of Officers

State Chair – Jane Kleeb - Unopposed, no write-ins; Yes – 232; No – 4,

Jane Kleeb elected Chair

1st Associate Chair – Preston Love, Richard Register, Paul Theobold, John Wees

Results Paper Ballot – Love – 134, Register – 92, Theobold – 167, John Wees – 2

1st Round Ranked Choice – Love 135, Register, 92, Theobold – 167

2nd Round Ranked Choice – Love 172, Theobold – 197

Paul Theobold elected 1st Associate Chair

2nd Associate Chair – Janet Banks, Bud Pettigrew, John Wees -

Results Paper Ballot - Banks - 217, Pettigrew - 144, Wees - 16

Janet Banks elected 2nd Associate Chair

National Committeeman – Ron Kaminski, Jesse Parker, John Wees

Results Paper Ballot – Kaminski – 364, Jesse Parker - 28, John Wees -7

Ron Kaminski elected National Committeeman

National Committeewoman - Charlene Ligon

Unopposed, no write-ins; Yes – 222; No – 3

Election of Pledged Party Leader and Elected Official to National Convention (PLEO) – Rules Committee Chair Trevor Fitzgerald

Three Positions

Tier One - No candidates filed

Tier Two - Sara Howard, Steve Lathrop

Tier Three – Patty Pansing Brooks

Tier Four - None

Motion to elect all three positions with the three accepted candidates for PLEO by Shirl Mora James, LD30, seconded by Roger Morgan, carried by vote Yes – 228, NO-6.

Report of Elector Committee – James Doc Moore, Chair is unable to be on call in person, Convention Secretary Charlene Ligon gave the report.

CD1 – Larry Wright, CD2 – Precious McKesson, CD3 - Kathy Jensen At Large – Peg O'Dea Lippert, Roger Wess Yes – 182, No – 16

Election or At-Large Delegates to the National Convention – Trevor Fitzgerald, Chair Rules Committee
Based on the May 12, 2020 primary all six Nebraska delegates were awarded to Vice President
Joe Biden. The Biden campaign has approved the following candidates – Bud Pettigrew, Jo-EL
Chiles, Jennifer Benson, Matthew Cavanaugh, Tiffany Hobbs Banks, Sharlette Schwenninger

Motion to accept the six accepted candidates for the six positions for at-large delegates to the National Convention bu Stephanie Matejla, LD46, seconded by Shirl Mora James carried by vote Yes – 208, No – 8.

Platform and Resolution Report – Shirl Mora James, Chair

Platform and Resolution Committee requests the body temporarily adopt the Draft 2020 Platform (on NDP website).

Motion to temporarily adopt the Draft 2020 Platform by Ben Cass, LD7, seconded by Roger Morgan, LD43 carried by vote Yes 208, No- 8.

Video Remarks – Kara Eastman – Candidate for House of Representatives CD2

Motion to Recess the 2020 NDP Convention until a Special State Convention as provided in Bylaw 5.1.2.11 to be called at a later date, with the special business of such Special convention being the continuation of any and all business of the Convention that could not reasonably be conducted due to Covid-19 restrictions by Trevor Fitzgerald, LD12, seconded by John Yoakum, LD27; carried by vote Yes-211, No-2.

2020 NDP convention is Recessed.