

Nebraska Democratic Party Virtual State Convention Saturday, April 2, 2022 at 1:00 CST

Welcome - NDP Chair, Kleeb

Call to Order - NDP Chair, Kleeb at 1:15pm.

Pledge of Allegiance - Veterans and Military Families Council Chair, Jim Harrold

Land Acknowledgement - Cynthia LaMere, Yankton Sioux Nation. The original stewards of the land include the tribal nations: Pawnee, Ponca, Otoe Missouria, Umonhon(Omaha), Dakota, Lakota, Arapaho, Tsitsistas and Suhtai (Cheyenne), Kaw peoples (Kansa), as well as the relocated Ho-chunk (Winnebago), Isanti (Santee Dakota), Ioway, and Sac and Fox people.

Moment of Remembrance - In memory of Jim Garver, Mike Boyle, Sherry Clark, Cathie Genung, and those struggling in Ukraine to defend their country and families.

Announcements and reminders - NDP Chair, Kleeb

- Delegates download an app for an outreach action later during the convention.
- Key Dates and Upcoming Events

Special Guest Address - Second Gentleman, Douglas Emhoff

Report of the Committee on Credentials - NDP Vice Chair, Preston Love Jr.

- The Credentials Committee convened at 6:00pm April 1, 2022 to finalize and confirm the delegates and alternates for the 2022 NDP State Convention.
- From all counties a total of 292 delegates and 26 alternates were elected.
- Vote to accept the report of the Committee on Credentials.
 - Ave 135
 - Nay 1

Report of the Secretary - NDP Secretary, Caleb Rohrer

- 147 delegates constitute a quorum.
- 162 delegates present.
- 82 votes constitute a majority.

Candidate Video - Gubernatorial candidate, Sen. Carol Blood

Report of the State Convention Committee - Convention Committee Chair, Stephanie Matejka

- Motion to adopt the Virtual Convention Rules and Convention Agenda made by William Forsee, LD3, seconded by Shannon Graves, LD24.
 - Vote to adopt the Virtual Convention Rules and Convention Agenda.
 - Aye 141



- Nay 0
- Motion to elect the following delegates as permanent officers of the 2022 State Convention as a block made by Ben Cass, LD7, seconded by Scott Williams, LD9.
 - Vote to adopt the following delegates as permanent officers of the 2022
 - Convention Chair, Commissioner Sean Flowerday
 - o Convention Vice Chair, Brenda Council
 - Convention Secretary, Caleb Rohrer
 - Convention Treasurer, Ted Kessler
 - Convention Sergeant at Arms, Dulce Sherman
- Vote to adopt the permanent officers of the 2022 NDP State Convention.
 - Aye 140
 - Nay 2
- Remarks by Convention Vice-Chair, Brenda Council.
- Remarks by Convention Chair, Sean Flowerday.

Candidate Videos - CD1 Candidates: Sen. Patty Pansing Brooks and Jazari Kual Zakaria

Reports from Congressional District Caucuses

- Congressional District 1.
 - New officers
 - Chair, Marthaellen Florence
 - Vice Chair, John Yoakum
- Congressional District 2.
 - New officers
 - Chair, Ben Cass
 - Vice Chair, Alisha Shelton
- Congressional District 3.
 - New officers
 - Chair, Randy Fair
 - Vice Chair, Kiley Barwick

Presentation from the Democratic Congressional Campaigns Committee - Luke Hoffman

Candidate Videos - CD2 Candidates: Alisha Shelton and Sen. Tony Vargas

Report of Nominations Committee & Announce Results from Election of State Party Officers - Convention Chair Sean Flowerday on behalf of Nominations Committee Chair, Roger Morgan

- Review of nomination and election process.
- Motion to accept the nominations of all candidates who filed with the NDP by the February 25th, 2022 deadline and receive the results from the ballots that were returned made by Trevor Fitzgerald, LD12, seconded by Randy Fair, LD47.
- Vote to accept the nominations of all candidates who filed with the NDP by the February 25th, 2022 deadline and receive the results from the ballots that were returned.



- Aye 135
- Nay 1
- Results of the election.
 - State Chair, Jane Kleeb
 - Vice Chair, Ron Kaminski
 - Vice Chair of Chairs, Bud Pettigrew
- Remarks of current and former officers
 - o Preston Love Jr., Vice Chair
 - o Charlene Ligon, DNC Committeewoman
 - o Richard Register, At-Large Executive Committeeman
 - o Ron Kaminski, Vice Chair Elect
 - o Jane Kleeb, State Chair

Candidate Videos - CD3 Candidates: Dan Wik and David Else

Block Captain Training and Outreach Action - Outreach Director, Gina Frank

- Review of Block Captain program
- Tutorial on Outreach Circle usage.

Report of the Rules Committee - Rules Committee Chair, Trevor Fitzgerald

- 2022 Rules Committee Preliminary Report
- Proposal A
 - Discussion was had.
 - Vote to adopt Proposal A.
 - Aye 115
 - Nay 1
- Proposal B, part 1
 - o Discussion was had.
 - Vote to adopt Proposal B, part 1.
 - Aye 105
 - Nav 5
- Proposal B, part 2
 - Discussion was had.
 - Vote to adopt Proposal B, part 2.
 - Aye 108
 - Nay 6
- Proposal C, part 1
 - o Discussion was had.
 - Vote to adopt Proposal C, part 1.
 - Aye 118
 - Nay 7



- Proposal C, part 2
 - o There was no discussion.
 - Vote to adopt Proposal C, part 2.
 - Aye 108
 - Nay 2
- Proposal D
 - Discussion was had.
 - Vote to adopt Proposal D.
 - Aye 117
 - Nay 2
- Proposal E
 - No discussion was had.
 - Vote to adopt Proposal E.
 - Passed unanimously.
- Proposal F
 - No discussion was had.
 - Vote to adopt Proposal F.
 - Passed unanimously.
- Proposal G
 - o Discussion was had.
 - Vote to adopt Proposal G
 - Aye 110
 - Nay 2
- Proposal H
 - o Discussion was had.
 - Vote to adopt Proposal H
 - Aye 103
 - Nay 1

Report of the NDP Staff - Executive Director, Precious McKesson

- Overview of 2022 plans including Vote By Mail, Block Captains, Voter Guides and outreach to key voting blocs including communities or color and rural towns.
- Monthly contributor reminder https://secure.actblue.com/donate/blueneb.

Report of the Platform and Resolutions Committee - Committee Chair, Shirl Mora James

- Review of the Platform and Resolutions Committee Report process.
- Overview of the 2022 Platform.
- Motion to adopt the 2022 Platform made by Roy Gertig, LD45, seconded by Marta Nieves, LD3.
 - Vote to adopt the 2022 Platform.
 - Aye 113
 - Nay 3



Closing Announcements

- Lancaster County Democratic Party Chairwoman, Hannah Wroblewski.
 - o Announcement of the 2022 LCDP Patriots Dinner
- NDP Outreach Director, Gina Frank
 - o Review of Convention outreach action.

Closing Remarks - Convention Chair, Sean Flowerday

Adjournment - Convention Chair, Sean Flowerday

- Motion to adjourn by Shirl Mora James, LD27, seconded by Ron Rivera, LD5.
 - Motion carries

2022 NDP State Convention is adjourned.