News Release: Speaker Pelosi to Keynote NDP’s Morrison Exon Event

The Nebraska Democratic Party is proud to announce that U.S. House Speaker Nancy Pelosi will be the keynote speaker at the party’s annual Morrison Exon Fundraiser, which will also celebrate the 100-year anniversary of Women’s Right to Vote.

Pelosi will deliver remarks at the dinner, to be held Oct. 26 in Omaha.

“We are honored to host Speaker Pelosi in Omaha. The NDP is working to deliver that blue dot once again by flipping the Congressional seat red-to-blue and sending our Democratic nominee to the White House with an electoral vote,” said NDP Chair Jane Kleeb. “Speaker Pelosi’s bold leadership and tenacity are unparalleled and vital in this period of chaos and scandal being caused by the Republicans and the Trump administration.”

Said Speaker Pelosi:

“It my privilege to speak to all of our great Nebraska Democrats. We are in a fight for the soul of our country. I tell women all across the country to know their power. As the Nebraska Democrats celebrate the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19th Amendment,  there is no better time to show our power. There is no substitute for hard work and the Nebraska Democrats are ready with a plan, leaders and candidates to win. We need to replace Representatives Bacon, Fortenberry and Smith along with Senator Ben Sasse with authentic Democrats who stand up for families rather than give political cover to President Trump.”

Speaker Pelosi began her political career as the California State Party Chair before she ran to represent California’s 12th congressional district. After the Democrats regained control of the House in the 2018 midterm elections, Pelosi was elected Speaker for the second time.

Speaker Pelosi has a long record of passing bills for working-class families that bring more fairness and justice to our everyday lives.

Nebraskans can learn more about the Morrison Exon Fundraiser and purchase a ticket for the event at

The party will also be presenting our annual volunteer, party leader and elected official awards at the event, including three new awards named after Sen. Ben Nelson and the late Anne Boyle and Frank LaMere.


Like this article?