Press release: NDP’s Kleeb assails Bacon, Fortenberry and Smith for not supporting increasing stimulus payments

NDP Chair Jane Kleeb on Monday blasted Reps. Don Bacon, Jeff Fortenberry and Adrian Smith for not supporting increasing stimulus payments to Americans to $2,000 from the $600 previously approved.

The legislation, which passed by a vote of 275-134, was supported by 44 Republican members.

Bacon and Smith voted against the measure. Fortenberry did not vote.

“Struggling Nebraskans were depending on our representatives to put aside their partisan loyalty to help people. In the end, Bacon, Fortenberry and Smith showed us they simply do not care about the many — they only care about the select few that line their campaign accounts,” Kleeb said. “Thousands of working Nebraskans have been devastated by the COVID-19 pandemic. People are reeling, but they do not care. They have no compassion. It’s shameful.

“The Republican leaders in Nebraska are simply inhumane. Reps. Bacon, Fortenberry and Smith should spend less time worrying about the ‘R’ behind their titles and more time representing the ‘NE’ behind their titles. 2022 starts now,” Kleeb said.

Like this article?