Press release: NDP’s Kleeb, Vargas, blast Bacon and rest of Nebraska congressional contingent for voting against gun bill

Nebraska Democratic Party Chair Jane Kleeb and CD2 candidate Sen. Tony Vargas  decried the votes by Republican Reps. Don Bacon and Adrian Smith against the gun safety measure that passed by the House late Friday.

The U.S. House passed the Bipartisan Safer Communities Act — with support from 14 Republican Congressmen, not including Bacon and Smith. The Senate passed the measure Thursday with support from 15 Republican Senators — not including Nebraska Sens. Ben Sasse and Deb Fischer.

President Biden signed the measure into law on Saturday. This is an historic first step for gun reform.

The legislation was brought in response to a string of mass shootings, mostly at schools.

“Rep. Bacon brags about all his awards from lobbying groups for being bi-partisan and yet again his actions prove he is lock step with the reckless Republicans,” said NDP Chair Jane Kleeb. “Bacon would rather give political cover to the gun lobby than protect our kids. We thank President Biden for getting the first step of gun reform over the finish line.”

This bipartisan bill is the first major federal gun safety legislation in decades and provides funding for mental health, school safety and crisis intervention programs, background checks for teenagers and protections for victims of domestic abuse. 

Said Vargas:

“Rep. Bacon’s vote against a bipartisan bill negotiated by both Republicans and Democrats to put in place common sense gun safety measures that save lives shows how out of touch he is with Nebraska communities. While 15 Republican Senators weren’t afraid of working together to get something done, Don Bacon refused to and chose the gun lobby instead. We need a leader representing us in Congress who puts results over gridlock and special interests.”

Like this article?