مرشحو 2021

تحقق من NDP's مركز التصويت للحصول على معلومات حول كيفية التصويت بالبريد ومواقع الاقتراع والإجابات على الأسئلة الأخرى حول حقوق التصويت.

التبرع للحزب الوطني يساعد جميع المرشحين الديمقراطيين في الاقتراع.

الأعراق المحلية

أوماها مايور

لطالما كان RJ Neary شخصًا يتطلع إلى خلق الفرص. من بدء عمله الخاص في خدمة العشب في المدرسة الثانوية إلى العمل كرئيس في Investors Realty ، فهو يعرف كيفية مواجهة التحدي. تعمل خبرة RJ في مشاريع معقدة وبيع العقارات القديمة والصعبة والمعقدة. تكمن مجموعة مهاراته في إيجاد حلول لمشاكل أكثر صعوبة. تدرك الملكية الأردنية أهمية الاستماع النشط والتفكير خارج الصندوق لحل المشكلات.  

مجلس مدينة أوماها

Pete Festersen

تم انتخاب عضو المجلس بيت فيسترسن في مجلس المدينة في عام 2009 وأعيد انتخابه في عامي 2013 و 2017. وشغل منصب رئيس مجلس المدينة من 2013 إلى 2015 وهو نائب رئيس الاستراتيجية والشؤون العامة في CHI Health ، وهي واحدة من أكبر شركات Omaha أرباب العمل من القطاع الخاص.

بن جراي

الحي 2

يسعى بن جراي للحصول على فترة ولايته الرابعة في مجلس مدينة أوماها. بن هو من قدامى المحاربين في فيتنام وكذلك صحفي حائز على جوائز. في الفترة التي قضاها في المجلس ، قدم قانون الأعمال الصغيرة والناشئة لتوفير فرص أكبر للأقليات والمقاول من الإناث. قدم بن وحصل على قانون المساواة في العمل الذي يوفر الحماية لمجتمع LGBTQIA في مكان العمل وكذلك أماكن الإقامة العامة. في السنوات القليلة المقبلة ، يتعين علينا معالجة الإسكان الميسور التكلفة ، والعدد المتزايد لمن هم بلا مأوى ، والأهم من ذلك معالجة القضايا العرقية من خلال الحوار وأحيانًا المحادثات المؤلمة.   

 
 
 
 
خوانيتا جونسون هو محترف بارع في مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات ولديه أكثر من 20 عامًا من الخبرة في الأعمال ، بما في ذلك العمل في شركة النقل Fortune 500 ومقرها في أوماها. حصلت خوانيتا على بكالوريوس العلوم في إدارة الأعمال وهي مسجلة حاليًا في جامعة بلفيو تسعى للحصول على درجة الماجستير في إدارة الأعمال. تتمتع خوانيتا بأكثر من 10 سنوات من الخبرة في مجال ريادة الأعمال وتعرف ما يلزم لإدارة الأعمال التجارية.
 

أنا داني بيجلي وأنا أترشح لمجلس مدينة أوماها في المنطقة 3. هذه المنطقة هي قلب وروح أوماها وهي المكان الذي ولدت ونشأت فيه. أنا وعائلتي محظوظون لأنني كوفئت بالعديد من النعم التي نشأت في الأحياء المتنوعة ذات الياقات الزرقاء التي تشكل جوهر أوماها

تم انتخاب عضو المجلس باليرمو لعضوية مجلس مدينة أوماها في عام 2017. نشأ في جنوب أوماها وتخرج من مدرسة أوماها الجنوبية العليا. بعد التخرج ، عمل فيني كخبير عمليات في البحرية الأمريكية. بعد أن أكمل مهمته الفعلية ، التحق بجامعة نبراسكا - أوماها. طوال حياته المهنية ، كان فيني مشغل أعمال صغير ورجل أعمال في جنوب أوماها. قبل العمل في مجلس المدينة ، تم انتخابه في مجلس مدرسة أوماها العامة. 

يحتاج أوماها إلى قيادة ثابتة. يمنحني عملي كمهندس معماري للرعاية الصحية معرفة ومهارات فريدة لتطوير الحلول. أنا أدعم التنمية الاقتصادية. أنا رجل أسرة عامل يتفهم الاهتمامات المحلية وتأثيرات القرار على الأفراد والعائلات والشركات. من المهم الآن أكثر من أي وقت مضى خدمة عمال الخطوط الأمامية لدينا بما في ذلك الشرطة والعاملين في مجال الرعاية الصحية والمعلمين.

نعومي هاتاواي هو مرشح يعتقد أن City Hall يجب أن يكون استباقيًا ومتجاوبًا ومتواصلًا. تركز منصتها على الصحة والسلامة العامة والإنصاف والنمو الذكي ، وهي على استعداد لتقديم حلول فعالة ومنصفة إلى مجلس المدينة. نعومي هي رائدة فكرية معترف بها في مجال بناء المجتمع والإسكان كحق من حقوق الإنسان ، وقد أمضت العقد الماضي في الدفاع عن إمكانية الوصول والتقدم من خلال التعاون والشراكات الناجحة بين القطاعين العام والخاص. تركز على السياسات التي تحمي شبابنا وكبار السن ومجتمعنا من ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة ، وتخطط لمعالجة الشيخوخة في المكان ، وإمكانية الوصول إلى City Hall ، وتحمل المسؤولية في استخدام الأراضي لدينا.

ترشح سارة كوهين لمجلس مدينة أوماها للمقاطعة 7 في شمال غرب أوماها. وهي أيضًا أم وزوجة ومحامية تعمل الآن على إشراك العائلات وبناء المجتمع كمديرة مدرسة. تنجذب سارة إلى الخدمة العامة لأنها تعتقد أننا - كأمة ودولة ومدينة - لدينا الكثير من الإمكانات. تؤثر القرارات المتخذة على المستوى المحلي في الطريقة التي نعيش بها حياتنا.

مجلس مدينة لينكولن

ولد توم بيكيوس ونشأ في لينكولن. نشأ ابنًا لأصحاب الأعمال الصغيرة الذين علموه العمل الجاد والصدق والتعامل مع الآخرين بإنصاف. بصفته زوجًا وزوج أم وصاحب شركة صغيرة ، يركض توم لمواصلة إرث الحفاظ على لينكولن مكانًا رائعًا لتربية الأسرة وبناء مستقبل مهني والاستمتاع بحياتنا معًا.

وصفت Sändra Washington لينكولن بالمنزل لمدة 30 عامًا. عملت واشنطن مع National Park Service لما يقرب من 25 عامًا ، وشغل العديد من المناصب المختلفة في التخطيط والتدريب والتطوير والامتثال البيئي وكمشرف على المنتزه قبل أن يصبح رئيسًا للتخطيط في الغرب الأوسط. تقاعد Sändra من منصب المدير الإقليمي المساعد لمنطقة الغرب الأوسط للموارد الثقافية والتخطيط والبناء والاتصالات والتشريع وشؤون الكونغرس.

تعتبر لينكولن مكانًا رائعًا للعيش فيه ، ولكن علينا التأكد من أن جودة حياتنا العالية متاحة للأشخاص من جميع مناحي الحياة ، وليس فقط من هم في القمة. أريد أن أتأكد من أن شخصًا ما يستمع إلى سكان لينكولن ويسمع حقًا مخاوفهم.

مجلس مدارس لينكولن للتعليم العام

كاثي دينك

الحي 1

مقيم مدى الحياة في شمال شرق لينكولن. تيري وأنا وبناتنا الأربع من خريجي مدرسة Northeast High (LNE). أسعى للحصول على ولايتي السادسة في LPS Board of Education. من ذوي الخبرة والتفاني في خدمة الأطفال والعائلات في منطقتنا. توفر روضة الأطفال طوال اليوم ومرحلة ما قبل الروضة الموسعة بداية رائعة للأطفال. تسمح إضافة فرص الكليات والوظائف مثل مسار UNL-LNE المبكر الجديد للكلية أو أكاديمية Career للطلاب بالحصول على أرصدة جامعية في المدرسة الثانوية. توفر مراكز التعلم المجتمعي (CLC) الإثراء قبل وبعد المدرسة. توجيه تنفيذ إصدار السندات $290 الذي تم تمريره مؤخرًا للمنشآت. تعيين المعلمين المؤهلين تأهيلا عاليا ومتنوعين والاحتفاظ بهم ومكافأتهم. يتعلق الأمر بتلبية احتياجات كل طفل كل يوم.

بارب باير

حي 3

لقد خدمت لمدة أربع فترات في مجلس لينكولن للتعليم وأسعى الآن للحصول على فترة ولاية خامسة. بصفتي أمًا لخريجة مدارس لينكولن العامة (LPS) في عام 2018 وممثل الأقلية الوحيد لمجلس الإدارة (أول مسؤول منتخب بشكل علني عن مجتمع الميم في ولاية نبراسكا) ، أعتقد أنه من المهم الاحتفاظ بالقيادة المختصة والمطلعة في مجلس الإدارة لضمان يمكن لأطفال المجتمع الاستمرار في الحصول على تعليم ممتاز. خطت LPS خطوات كبيرة في تضييق فجوة التحصيل وتحسين الأداء الأكاديمي لجميع الطلاب. لضمان استمرار التقدم ، يحتاج المجلس إلى تحسين البيئة التعليمية ليكون مرحبًا وداعمًا لجميع طلابنا. وهذا يعني العمل مع جمعية الأنشطة الطلابية في نبراسكا للقضاء على المضايقات والسلوكيات التهديدية التي تظهر تجاه الطلاب الملونين قبل وأثناء وبعد المسابقات الرياضية. وهذا يعني ضمان أن الأطفال الذين يعرّفون أنفسهم بأنهم من مجتمع الميم أو ينتمون لعائلات تعيلها مجتمع الميم يتم الترحيب بهم ودعمهم في مدارسنا. 

اتشح يمثل المنطقة 7 في مجلس التعليم LPS منذ عام 2001. في ذلك الوقت ، تعاملت المنطقة مع نمو قياسي ، وبنت 12 مدرسة جديدة ، ونفذت مناهجًا رقمية على مستوى المنطقة ، وزادت معدل التخرج إلى أعلى مستوى ، وكل ذلك مع خفض معدل جباية ضريبة الأملاك إلى أدنى مستوى له منذ أكثر من 50 عامًا. في الوقت الحالي ، تتعامل المنطقة مع جائحة عالمي يحدث مرة واحدة في العمر وتخطط الهيئة التشريعية لخفض تمويل المساعدات الحكومية لنكولن للعام الثاني على التوالي. يحتاج LPS إلى قيادة من ذوي الخبرة للتغلب على هذه التحديات.

2021 Candidates

Check out the NDP’s Voting Center for information on how to Vote By Mail, polling locations and answers to other questions around voting rights.

Donating to the NDP helps all Democratic candidates on the ballot.

Local Races

Omaha Mayor

R.J. Neary has always been someone who looks to create opportunities. From starting his own lawn service business in high school to serving as President at Investors Realty, he knows how to take on a challenge. RJ’s expertise is working on complex projects, and selling older, difficult, and complicated properties. His skill set lies in finding solutions for more challenging problems. RJ understands the importance of active listening and thinking outside the box to solve issues.  

Omaha City Council

Pete Festersen

Pete Festersen

District 1

Councilmember Pete Festersen was elected to the City Council in 2009 and was re-elected in 2013 and 2017. He served as President of the City Council from 2013 to 2015 and is Vice President of Strategy and Public Affairs for CHI Health, one of Omaha’s largest private employers.

Ben Gray

District 2

Ben Gray is seeking his fourth term on the Omaha City Council.  Ben is a Vietnam veteran as well as an award winning journalist.  In his time on the Council he introduced the Small and Emerging Business Ordinance to provide greater opportunities for minority and female contractor.  Ben introduced and got passed the Equal Employment Ordinance that provided protections for the LGBTQIA community in the work place as well as public accommodations.  In the next few years we have to address affordable housing, the increasing number of of those who are homeless and most important addressing head on racial issues through dialog and sometimes painful conversation.   

 
 
 
 

Juanita Johnson

District 2

Juanita Johnson is an accomplished Information Technology professional with over 20 years of business experience, including working for a Fortune 500 transportation company based in Omaha. Juanita earned a Bachelor of Science in business and is currently enrolled at Bellevue University seeking a Master of Business Administration. Juanita has over 10 years of entrepreneurial experience and knows what it takes to run a business.
 

Danny Begley

District 3

I’m Danny Begley and  I am running for the Omaha City Council in District 3. This district is the heart and soul of Omaha and it is where I was born and raised. Me and my family are fortunate to have been rewarded with the many blessings of growing up in the diverse, blue-collar neighborhoods that make up Omaha’s core

Vinny Palermo

District 4

Councilmember Palermo was elected to the Omaha City Council in 2017.  He was raised in South Omaha and graduated from Omaha South High.  After graduating, Vinny served as an Operations Specialist in the US Navy.  After fulfilling his active duty assignment, he attended University of Nebraska – Omaha. Throughout his career, Vinny has been a South Omaha small business operator and entrepreneur. Prior to serving on the City Council he was elected to the Omaha Public School Board. 

Patrick Leahy

District 5

Omaha needs steady leadership. My work as a healthcare architect gives me unique knowledge and skills to develop solutions. I support economic development. I am a working family man that understands local concerns and the impacts of decision on people, families and businesses. Now more than ever it is important to serve our front-line workers including our police, healthcare workers, and educators.

Naomi Hattaway is a candidate who believes City Hall must be proactive, responsive and communicative. Her platform centers public health and safety, equity and smart growth, and she is ready to bring both impactful and equitable solutions to the City Council. Naomi is a recognized thought leader in the realm of community building and housing as a human right, and has spent the last decade championing accessibility and progress through collaboration and successful public-private partnerships. She is focused on policies that protect our youth, our elders and our disabled community, and plans to address aging in place, accessibility to City Hall, and being responsible with our land use.

Sara Kohen

District 7

Sara Kohen is running for Omaha City Council for District 7, in northwest Omaha. She is also a mom, a wife, and an attorney who now works to engage families and build community as a school administrator. Sara is drawn to public service because she believes that we—as a nation, a state, and a city—have so much potential. Decisions made at the local level affect how we live our lives.

Lincoln City Council

Tom Beckius

At Large

Tom Beckius was born and raised in Lincoln. He grew up as the son of small business owners who taught him to work hard, be honest and treat others fairly. As a husband, stepfather and small business owner himself, Tom is running to continue the legacy of keeping Lincoln a great place to raise a family, build a career and enjoy our lives together.

Sändra Washington

At Large

Sändra Washington has called Lincoln home for 30 years. Washington worked with the National Park Service for nearly 25 years, holding many different positions in planning, training and development, environmental compliance and as a park superintendent before becoming Midwest Chief of Planning. Sändra retired as Associate Regional Director for the Midwest Region for Cultural Resources, Planning, Construction, Communications, Legislation and Congressional Affairs.

Bennie Shobe

At Large

Lincoln is a great place to live, but we have to make sure that our high quality of life is available to people from all walks of life, not just those at the top. I want to make sure that someone is listening to the people of Lincoln and will truly hear their concerns.

Lincoln Public Schools Board of Education

Kathy Danek

District 1

Lifelong resident of northeast Lincoln. Terry and I and our four daughters are graduates of Northeast High (LNE). I am seeking my sixth term to the LPS Board of Education.  Experienced and dedicated to serving the children and families of our district. All day kindergarten and expanded pre-K give children a great start.  Adding college & career opportunities like the new UNL-LNE early college stem pathway or the Career Academy allow students to earn college credits in high school.  Community Learning Centers(CLC) provide before & after school enrichment. Guiding the implementation of the recently passed $290 million bond issue for facilities.  Recruit, retain and reward highly qualified and diverse educators.   It’s about meeting the needs of every child every day.

Barb Baier

District 3

I have served for four terms on the Lincoln Board of Education and am now seeking my fifth term. As a mom of a Lincoln Public Schools (LPS) graduate in 2018 and the Board’s only minority representative (first openly LGBT elected official in the State of Nebraska), I believe it is important to retain competent, knowledgeable leadership on the Board to ensure our community’s children can continue to access an excellent education. LPS has made significant strides in narrowing the achievement gap and improving the academic performance of all students. To ensure continued progress, the Board needs to improve the educational environment to be welcoming and supportive of all our students. This means working with the Nebraska Student Activities Association to eliminate harassment and threatening behavior exhibited toward students of color before, during and after athletic competitions. This means ensuring that children self-identifying as LGBT or come from LGBT-headed families are welcomed and supported in our schools. 

Don Mayhew

District 7

Don has represented District 7 on the LPS Board of Education since 2001. In that time, the district has dealt with record growth, built 12 new schools, implemented district wide digital curriculum, and increased the graduation rate to its highest level, all while lowering the property tax levy rate to the lowest it has been in over 50 years. Currently, the district is dealing with a once-in-a-lifetime global pandemic and the Legislature is planning to cut Lincoln’s state aid funding for the second straight year. LPS needs experienced leadership to navigate these challenges.