2021年候选人

查看NDP的 投票中心 有关如何通过邮件投票,轮询位置以及有关投票权的其他问题的答案的信息。

捐赠给新民主党将帮助所有民主党候选人投票。

当地种族

奥马哈市长

RJ Neary一直都是寻求创造机会的人。从高中开始自己的草坪服务业务到在Investors Realty担任总裁,他都知道如何应对挑战。 RJ的专长是从事复杂的项目,并销售较旧,困难和复杂的物业。他的技能在于找到更具挑战性的问题的解决方案。 RJ理解开箱即用的积极聆听和思考解决问题的重要性。  

奥马哈市议会

Pete Festersen

皮特·费斯特森

1区

市议员佩泰·费斯特森当选为市议会在2009年和2013年再次当选和2017年他曾担任市议会从2013年的总统至2015年,是CHI健康战略及公共事务副总裁,奥马哈最大的一个私人雇主。

本·格雷

二区

本·格雷(Ben Gray)正在奥马哈市议会(Omaha City Council)寻求他的第四个任期。 Ben是越南资深人士,也是屡获殊荣的记者。在理事会任职期间,他制定了《小型企业和新兴企业条例》,为少数民族和女性承包商提供更多机会。 Ben介绍并通过了《平等就业条例》,该条例为工作场所的LGBTQIA社区以及公共场所提供了保护。在接下来的几年中,我们必须解决负担得起的住房问题,越来越多的无家可归者和最重要的问题是通过对话和有时是痛苦的对话来解决种族问题。   

 
 
 
 

胡安妮塔·约翰逊(Juanita Johnson)

二区

胡安妮塔 约翰逊是一位经验丰富的信息技术专业人员,拥有20多年的业务经验,其中包括为位于奥马哈的财富500强运输公司工作。 Juanita获得了商业科学学士学位,目前正在贝尔维尤大学(Bellevue University)申请工商管理硕士学位。 Juanita拥有10多年的创业经验,并且知道经营一家公司需要什么。
 

丹尼·贝格利

第三区

我是Danny Begley,我正在竞选第3区的奥马哈市议会。这个地区是奥马哈的心脏和灵魂,也是我出生和成长的地方。我和我的家人很幸运,在构成奥马哈核心的多元化蓝领社区长大后获得了许多祝福。

文尼·巴勒莫(Vinny Palermo)

第四区

市议员巴勒莫当选为奥马哈市议会在2017年他在南奥马哈提高,从奥马哈南高毕业。毕业后,Vinny担任美国海军的作战专家。完成现役后,他进入了内布拉斯加大学-奥马哈分校。在他的整个职业生涯中,Vinny一直是南奥马哈的小企业经营者和企业家。此前在市议会服务,他当选为奥马哈公立学校董事会。 

帕特里克·莱希(Patrick Leahy)

五区

奥马哈需要稳定的领导。我作为医疗保健架构师的工作为我提供了开发解决方案的独特知识和技能。我支持经济发展。我是一个工作的有家室的人,了解当地的问题以及决策对人,家庭和企业的影响。现在比以往任何时候都更重要的是为我们的一线工人提供服务,包括我们的警察,医护人员和教育工作者。

娜奥米·哈塔威(Naomi Hattaway)

6区

直美 哈塔韦(Hattaway)是一位候选人,他认为市政厅必须是积极主动,响应迅速和沟通交流的。她的平台以公共健康与安全,公平与明智的增长为中心,并准备将具有影响力和公平的解决方案带给市议会。纳奥米(Naomi)是社区建设和住房人权领域公认的思想领袖,并且在过去十年中通过合作和成功的公私伙伴关系来倡导无障碍环境和进步。她专注于保护我们的青年,老年人和残疾人社区的政策,并计划解决老龄化,市政厅的可及性以及对我们的土地使用负责的问题。

萨拉·科恩(Sara Kohen)

七区

萨拉·科恩(Sara Kohen)正在竞选奥马哈西北部奥马哈市第七区委员会。她还是妈妈,妻子和律师,现在作为学校管理者致力于与家人互动并建立社区。萨拉之所以受到公共服务的吸引,是因为她相信我们作为一个国家,一个州和一个城市,具有巨大的潜力。在地方一级做出的决定会影响我们的生活。

林肯市议会

汤姆·贝克乌斯(Tom Beckius)

大体上

汤姆·贝克乌斯(Tom Beckius)在林肯出生并长大。他长大时是小企业主的儿子,他教会他努力工作,诚实和公平对待他人。作为丈夫,继父和小企业主,汤姆(Tom)继续继承使林肯(Lincoln)成为养家,建立事业和共同享受生活的好地方的遗产。

桑德拉华盛顿

大体上

桑德拉·华盛顿(SändraWashington)称林肯为家已有30年了。华盛顿在国家公园管理局(National Park Service)工作了近25年,在规划,培训和开发,环境合规性方面担任过许多不同的职位,并在担任中西部计划负责人之前担任公园总监。桑德拉(Sändra)退休,担任中西部地区文化资源,规划,建设,传播,立法和国会事务的副区域主任。

本尼·肖比(Bennie Shobe)

大体上

林肯(Lincoln)是一个生活的好地方,但我们必须确保为各行各业的人们提供高品质的生活,而不仅仅是高层人士。我想确保有人在听林肯人民的声音,并能真正听到他们的担忧。

林肯公立学校教育委员会

凯西·丹妮克(Kathy Danek)

1区

终身居住在东北林肯。特里和我以及我们的四个女儿都是东北高中(LNE)的毕业生。我正在寻求我的LPS教育委员会的第六个学期。经验丰富,致力于为我们地区的儿童和家庭服务。全日制幼儿园和扩大的幼儿园前班为孩子们提供了一个良好的开端。通过增加新的UNL-LNE早期大学干线途径或职业学院等大学和职业机会,学生可以在高中获得大学学分。社区学习中心(CLC)提供课前和课后充实。指导实施最近通过的$2.9亿美元的设施债券发行。招聘,保留和奖励高素质的多元化教育者。这是关于每天满足每个孩子的需求。

巴勃·拜尔(Barb Baier)

第三区

我曾在林肯教育委员会(Lincoln Education Board)任职四个学期,现在正在寻求我的第五个学期。作为林肯公立学校(LPS)毕业的2018年妈妈和董事会的唯一的少数民族代表(首次公开LGBT在内布拉斯加州民选官员),我相信保留在董事会主管,知识渊博的领导,确保重要的是我们的社区的孩子们可以继续接受优质的教育。 LPS在缩小成绩差距和改善所有学生的学习成绩方面取得了长足的进步。为了确保持续进步,董事会需要改善教育环境,以欢迎和支持我们所有的学生。这意味着要与内布拉斯加州学生活动协会合作,消除在体育比赛之前,期间和之后对有色学生表现出的骚扰和威胁行为。这意味着要确保在我们的学校中欢迎和支持那些自我认同为LGBT或来自LGBT户主家庭的孩子。 

唐·梅休

七区

大学教师 自2001年以来一直代表LPS教育委员会的7区。在那个时期,该区处理了创纪录的增长,新建了12所学校,实施了全区数字课程,并将毕业率提高到最高水平,同时降低了物业税征收率降至50年来的最低水平。目前,该地区正在应对千载难逢的全球性大流行病,而立法机构正计划连续第二年削减林肯的国家援助资金。 LPS需要经验丰富的领导才能应对这些挑战。

2021 Candidates

Check out the NDP’s Voting Center for information on how to Vote By Mail, polling locations and answers to other questions around voting rights.

Donating to the NDP helps all Democratic candidates on the ballot.

Local Races

Omaha Mayor

R.J. Neary has always been someone who looks to create opportunities. From starting his own lawn service business in high school to serving as President at Investors Realty, he knows how to take on a challenge. RJ’s expertise is working on complex projects, and selling older, difficult, and complicated properties. His skill set lies in finding solutions for more challenging problems. RJ understands the importance of active listening and thinking outside the box to solve issues.  

Omaha City Council

Pete Festersen

Pete Festersen

District 1

Councilmember Pete Festersen was elected to the City Council in 2009 and was re-elected in 2013 and 2017. He served as President of the City Council from 2013 to 2015 and is Vice President of Strategy and Public Affairs for CHI Health, one of Omaha’s largest private employers.

Ben Gray

District 2

Ben Gray is seeking his fourth term on the Omaha City Council.  Ben is a Vietnam veteran as well as an award winning journalist.  In his time on the Council he introduced the Small and Emerging Business Ordinance to provide greater opportunities for minority and female contractor.  Ben introduced and got passed the Equal Employment Ordinance that provided protections for the LGBTQIA community in the work place as well as public accommodations.  In the next few years we have to address affordable housing, the increasing number of of those who are homeless and most important addressing head on racial issues through dialog and sometimes painful conversation.   

 
 
 
 

Juanita Johnson

District 2

Juanita Johnson is an accomplished Information Technology professional with over 20 years of business experience, including working for a Fortune 500 transportation company based in Omaha. Juanita earned a Bachelor of Science in business and is currently enrolled at Bellevue University seeking a Master of Business Administration. Juanita has over 10 years of entrepreneurial experience and knows what it takes to run a business.
 

Danny Begley

District 3

I’m Danny Begley and  I am running for the Omaha City Council in District 3. This district is the heart and soul of Omaha and it is where I was born and raised. Me and my family are fortunate to have been rewarded with the many blessings of growing up in the diverse, blue-collar neighborhoods that make up Omaha’s core

Vinny Palermo

District 4

Councilmember Palermo was elected to the Omaha City Council in 2017.  He was raised in South Omaha and graduated from Omaha South High.  After graduating, Vinny served as an Operations Specialist in the US Navy.  After fulfilling his active duty assignment, he attended University of Nebraska – Omaha. Throughout his career, Vinny has been a South Omaha small business operator and entrepreneur. Prior to serving on the City Council he was elected to the Omaha Public School Board. 

Patrick Leahy

District 5

Omaha needs steady leadership. My work as a healthcare architect gives me unique knowledge and skills to develop solutions. I support economic development. I am a working family man that understands local concerns and the impacts of decision on people, families and businesses. Now more than ever it is important to serve our front-line workers including our police, healthcare workers, and educators.

Naomi Hattaway is a candidate who believes City Hall must be proactive, responsive and communicative. Her platform centers public health and safety, equity and smart growth, and she is ready to bring both impactful and equitable solutions to the City Council. Naomi is a recognized thought leader in the realm of community building and housing as a human right, and has spent the last decade championing accessibility and progress through collaboration and successful public-private partnerships. She is focused on policies that protect our youth, our elders and our disabled community, and plans to address aging in place, accessibility to City Hall, and being responsible with our land use.

Sara Kohen

District 7

Sara Kohen is running for Omaha City Council for District 7, in northwest Omaha. She is also a mom, a wife, and an attorney who now works to engage families and build community as a school administrator. Sara is drawn to public service because she believes that we—as a nation, a state, and a city—have so much potential. Decisions made at the local level affect how we live our lives.

Lincoln City Council

Tom Beckius

At Large

Tom Beckius was born and raised in Lincoln. He grew up as the son of small business owners who taught him to work hard, be honest and treat others fairly. As a husband, stepfather and small business owner himself, Tom is running to continue the legacy of keeping Lincoln a great place to raise a family, build a career and enjoy our lives together.

Sändra Washington

At Large

Sändra Washington has called Lincoln home for 30 years. Washington worked with the National Park Service for nearly 25 years, holding many different positions in planning, training and development, environmental compliance and as a park superintendent before becoming Midwest Chief of Planning. Sändra retired as Associate Regional Director for the Midwest Region for Cultural Resources, Planning, Construction, Communications, Legislation and Congressional Affairs.

Bennie Shobe

At Large

Lincoln is a great place to live, but we have to make sure that our high quality of life is available to people from all walks of life, not just those at the top. I want to make sure that someone is listening to the people of Lincoln and will truly hear their concerns.

Lincoln Public Schools Board of Education

Kathy Danek

District 1

Lifelong resident of northeast Lincoln. Terry and I and our four daughters are graduates of Northeast High (LNE). I am seeking my sixth term to the LPS Board of Education.  Experienced and dedicated to serving the children and families of our district. All day kindergarten and expanded pre-K give children a great start.  Adding college & career opportunities like the new UNL-LNE early college stem pathway or the Career Academy allow students to earn college credits in high school.  Community Learning Centers(CLC) provide before & after school enrichment. Guiding the implementation of the recently passed $290 million bond issue for facilities.  Recruit, retain and reward highly qualified and diverse educators.   It’s about meeting the needs of every child every day.

Barb Baier

District 3

I have served for four terms on the Lincoln Board of Education and am now seeking my fifth term. As a mom of a Lincoln Public Schools (LPS) graduate in 2018 and the Board’s only minority representative (first openly LGBT elected official in the State of Nebraska), I believe it is important to retain competent, knowledgeable leadership on the Board to ensure our community’s children can continue to access an excellent education. LPS has made significant strides in narrowing the achievement gap and improving the academic performance of all students. To ensure continued progress, the Board needs to improve the educational environment to be welcoming and supportive of all our students. This means working with the Nebraska Student Activities Association to eliminate harassment and threatening behavior exhibited toward students of color before, during and after athletic competitions. This means ensuring that children self-identifying as LGBT or come from LGBT-headed families are welcomed and supported in our schools. 

Don Mayhew

District 7

Don has represented District 7 on the LPS Board of Education since 2001. In that time, the district has dealt with record growth, built 12 new schools, implemented district wide digital curriculum, and increased the graduation rate to its highest level, all while lowering the property tax levy rate to the lowest it has been in over 50 years. Currently, the district is dealing with a once-in-a-lifetime global pandemic and the Legislature is planning to cut Lincoln’s state aid funding for the second straight year. LPS needs experienced leadership to navigate these challenges.