拜登在基础设施建设方面处于领先地位,重建更好的计划

《基础设施投资和就业法案》是近一个世纪以来对我们基础设施和竞争力的最大长期投资。 拜登总统于 11 月 15 日将其签署为法律。 

该措施将为内布拉斯加州带来 $30 亿,并正在引领他的“重建更好计划”,该计划将对我们的  孩子、家庭、社区和国家。

基础设施投资和就业法案对内布拉斯加州的作用

《基础设施投资和就业法案》是近一个世纪以来对我们基础设施和竞争力的最大长期投资。

内布拉斯加州需要采取行动是显而易见的,最近发布的州级数据表明,基础设施投资和就业法案将为内布拉斯加州带来好处。几十年来,内布拉斯加州的基础设施一直受到系统性投资不足的影响。

具有历史意义的基础设施投资和就业法案将改善数十万内布拉斯加州居民的生活,创造一代高薪工会工作和经济增长,并使美国在 21 世纪获胜。

具体而言,《基础设施投资和就业法》将:

修复和重建我们的道路和桥梁,重点关注所有用户(包括骑自行车者和行人)的气候变化减缓、复原力、公平和安全。

在内布拉斯加州,有 1,302 座桥梁和超过 1,125 英里的公路状况不佳。自 2011 年以来,内布拉斯加州的通勤时间增加了 6.6%,平均每个司机每年支付 $461 的成本因在需要维修的道路上行驶。 《基础设施投资和就业法案》是自州际公路系统建设以来最大的一项专门的桥梁投资。

仅根据公式资金,内布拉斯加州预计将在五年内获得 $2 亿用于联邦援助公路分配计划和 $2 亿用于桥梁更换和维修的基础设施投资和就业法案。

内布拉斯加州还可以竞争具有经济意义的桥梁的 $125 亿桥梁投资计划和专用于将为社区带来可观经济效益的重大项目的法案中近 $160 亿的国家资金。

为数百万美国人改善健康、可持续的交通选择。

乘坐公共交通工具的内布拉斯加州人花费额外 82.5% 的通勤时间,而非白人家庭乘坐公共交通工具通勤的可能性是其他人的 4.7 倍。 19% 状态的过境车辆已过使用年限。

仅根据公式资金,内布拉斯加州就有望在五年内根据《基础设施投资和就业法案》获得 $1.86 亿,以改善全州的公共交通选择。

构建电动汽车充电站网络,为长途出行提供便利,并提供 方便的充电选项。

美国插电式电动汽车(EV)销量的市场份额仅为中国电动汽车市场规模的三分之一。总统认为这必须改变。该法案投资$75亿元,建设全国首个电动汽车站网络。

这些值是估计值,可能会根据每个财政年度更新的因子数据而变化。交通公式资助金额可能会因 2020 年人口普查或向 FTA 国家交通数据库报告的年度交通服务数据而发生变化。

这是拜登-哈里斯政府计划加速采用电动汽车以应对气候危机和支持国内制造业就业的计划中的一个关键要素。根据《基础设施投资和就业法案》,内布拉斯加州预计将在五年内获得 $3000 万,用于支持该州电动汽车充电网络的扩展。

内布拉斯加州还将有机会申请 $25 亿的专用于电动汽车充电的赠款资金。

帮助每个美国人连接到可靠的高速互联网。

宽带互联网是美国人完成工作、平等参与学校学习、医疗保健和保持联系所必需的。然而,内布拉斯加州的 13% 家庭没有互联网订阅,2% 的内布拉斯加州家庭居住在 FCC 基准下没有宽带基础设施的地区。

根据《基础设施投资和就业法案》,内布拉斯加州将获得至少 $1 亿的拨款,以帮助在全州范围内提供宽带覆盖,包括为目前缺乏宽带的至少 33,650 名内布拉斯加州人提供接入服务。而且,根据《基础设施投资和就业法案》,内布拉斯加州 449,000 或 24% 人将有资格获得负担能力连接福利,这将帮助低收入家庭负担得起互联网访问。

为气候变化、网络攻击、 和极端天气事件。

从 2010 年到 2020 年,内布拉斯加州经历了 23 次极端天气事件,造成该州损失高达 $200 亿。根据《基础设施投资和就业法案》,根据历史公式资金水平,内布拉斯加州预计将在五年内获得 $1680 万用于防范野火,以及 $1270 万用于防范网络攻击。

内布拉斯加州还将受益于该法案历史性的 $35 亿国家对气候化的投资,这将降低家庭的能源成本。

为每个美国人提供清洁的饮用水并消除全国领先的服务 线和管道。

目前,多达 1000 万个美国家庭和 400,000 所学校和托儿所缺乏安全饮用水。根据《基础设施投资和就业法案》,根据传统的州循环基金公式,内布拉斯加州预计将在五年内获得 $3.58 亿用于改善全州的供水基础设施,并确保清洁、安全的饮用水成为所有社区的权利。

改善我们国家的机场。美国建造了现代航空,但我们的机场 远远落后于我们的竞争对手。

根据《基础设施投资和就业法案》,内布拉斯加州的机场将在五年内获得约 $1.11 亿用于机场基础设施开发的资金。

在接下来的几天和几周内,我们预计将收到有关内布拉斯加州基础设施投资和就业法案影响的更多数据。

重建更好的框架将为内布拉斯加州提供

拜登总统的“重建更好”框架将通过减税和使儿童保育、家庭护理、教育、医疗保健和住房更负担得起,从而降低几十年来阻碍内布拉斯加州家庭的成本。

这些投资将为儿童提供新的学习机会,帮助父母,尤其是在职父母维持生计,并使经济在未来几年实现更强劲的增长。该框架将为内布拉斯加州的居民创造高薪工作,应对气候变化,为我们的孩子提供更清洁的空气和水,并使美国成为全球创新和 21 世纪制造业的领导者。

Build Back Better 框架将:

提供历史上最大的儿童保育和早期教育投资.

提供负担得起的托儿服务。托儿是内布拉斯加州家庭的主要压力,其中一个幼儿托儿中心的平均年费用为 $11,700,这意味着内布拉斯加州有两个年幼孩子的家庭平均会花费 25% 的收入用于托儿服务一年。

缺乏负担得起的选择也使父母,尤其是母亲难以继续工作,导致内布拉斯加州母亲和父亲之间在劳动力参与方面存在 17.8% 的性别差距。

“重建得更好”框架将使内布拉斯加州每年为 143,309 名年幼儿童(0-5 岁)提供托儿服务,这些儿童的收入低于州中位数收入的 2.5 倍(四口之家约为 $225,654),并确保这些家庭为高质量的儿童保育支付不超过其收入的 7%。

为每个 3 岁和 4 岁儿童提供普遍、优质、免费的学前班 美国.

如今,内布拉斯加州 59,758 名 3 岁和 4 岁儿童中只有 15% 可以进入公共资助的学前班,而那些无法进入公共资助计划的人每年的费用约为 $8,600。

Build Back Better 框架将使内布拉斯加州能够每年让 50,849 多名额外的 3 岁和 4 岁儿童获得免费、高质量的学前班,并提高已入学儿童的学前教育质量。

父母将能够将他们的孩子送到他们选择的学前班环境中——从公立学校到托儿所,再到 Head Start——从而获得终身教育福利,让更多的父母重返工作岗位,并为内布拉斯加州的未来奠定更坚实的基础经济竞争力。

为应对美国历史上的气候变化做出最大的努力。

从 2010 年到 2020 年,内布拉斯加州经历了 23 次极端天气事件,造成的损失高达 $200 亿。“重建更好”框架将使美国走上实现其气候目标的道路——将温室气体排放量比 2005 年水平减少 50-52%到 2030 年——以创造高薪工会工作、发展国内产业和促进环境正义的方式。

该框架代表了对我们清洁能源经济的有史以来最大的单笔投资——涉及我们土地和水域的建筑、交通、工业、电力、农业和气候智能型实践。该框架将创建一个新的平民气候军团,招募内布拉斯加州多元化的一代人来保护我们的公共土地、增强社区复原力和应对不断变化的气候,同时让高薪工会工作触手可及。

在清洁能源和其他领域,“重建更好”框架还将加强关键商品的国内制造和供应链,使美国企业、工人、消费者和社区受益。

减税并减少工人和家庭的一些最大开支。

使高中以外的教育更加负担得起和普及。内布拉斯加州 2 年制学位的平均费用为每年 $3,408,而 4 年制学位的平均费用为每年 $9,093,使许多学生预算紧张。为了帮助释放高中以外的教育机会,Build Back Better 框架将为公立和私立非营利机构的学生增加 $550 的最高佩尔助学金奖励,支持内布拉斯加州依赖佩尔的 31,413 名学生。

该框架还将投资于服务少数民族的机构及其在全国范围内服务的学生,包括历史悠久的黑人学院和大学 (HBCU)、部落学院和大学 (TCU) 以及西班牙裔服务机构 (HSI)。

为未来的工作培训美国工人。

在全球最大的经济体中,美国在劳动力发展投资方面排名倒数第二,自 2001 年以来,用于联邦职业培训计划的资金几乎减少了一半。

Build Back Better 框架投资于培训计划,这些计划将使内布拉斯加州的工人为在公共卫生、儿童保育、制造、IT 和清洁能源等快速增长的行业中获得高质量的工作做好准备。

为儿童提供营养丰富的食物选择。

内布拉斯加州 13% 的儿童生活在粮食不安全的家庭,损害了他们的长期健康和在学校取得成功的能力。

Build Back Better 框架将确保内布拉斯加州儿童的营养需求得到满足,方法是在学年期间将免费校餐扩大到额外的 122,000 名学生,并为 160,512 名学生提供在夏季购买食物的资源。

降低住房成本并扩大住房选择。

内布拉斯加州约有 101,000 名租房者承受着房租负担,这意味着他们将超过 30% 的收入用于房租,而许多家庭仍然无法拥有房屋。 “重建更好”框架将扩大对内布拉斯加州租房者的租金援助,同时通过在全国范围内建造和修复超过 100 万套经济适用房来增加高质量住房的供应。

它将解决美国整个公共住房存量的资本需求,包括历史上最大的首付援助投资之一,使更多的第一代购房者能够
购买他们的第一个家。

扩大医疗保健覆盖面并降低成本.

医疗保健应该是一项权利,而不是特权,内布拉斯加州面临疾病的居民永远不必担心他们将如何支付治疗费用。

Build Back Better 框架将缩小医疗补助覆盖范围的差距,以帮助数百万美国人获得健康保险,将美国救援计划的健康保险保费减免延长至 2025 年,以帮助那些自行购买保险的人,并帮助年长的美国人
通过扩大医疗保险获得负担得起的听力保健。

在内布拉斯加州,这意味着 18,000 名未投保的人将获得保险,18,600 人平均每年可节省数百美元。

此外,“重建得更好”框架将支持孕产妇健康并投资于国家对未来流行病的准备。

支持有长期护理需求的家庭。

老年美国人和残疾美国人对高质量、可及且负担得起的护理的需求只会增加,但高昂的成本和护理短缺使许多人不得不依靠家人来提供无偿护理。

“重建得更好”框架将扩大内布拉斯加州更多老年人和残疾人获得家庭和社区护理的机会,并提高护理工作的质量和工资。

为家庭和工人减税。

在大流行之前,内布拉斯加州 18 岁以下的 9% 儿童生活贫困。 Build Back Better 框架将加强
通过减少对中产阶级和那些努力闯入中产阶级的人的税收,金融安全并刺激内布拉斯加州的经济增长。

该框架将儿童税收抵免 (CTC) 增加,每名 6 岁以下儿童每月增加 $300 或每名 6 岁儿童每月增加 $250 至
17.

这将继续实现历史上最大的一年儿童贫困减少。至关重要的是,该协议包括儿童税收抵免的永久退款,这意味着从长远来看,最贫困的家庭将继续获得全额儿童税收抵免。

该框架还将提供高达 $1,500 的减税政策
通过扩大美国救援计划的收入所得税抵免 (EITC) 扩展,内布拉斯加州的 101,000 名低工资工人。

Biden leads the way on infrastructure, Build Back Better Plan

The Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, the largest long-term investment in our infrastructure and competitiveness in nearly a century. President Biden signed this into law on Nov. 15. 

The measure will bring $3 billion to Nebraska, and is leading the way on his Build Back Better Plan, which will make critical investments in our  kids, families, communities and nation.

What the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act does for Nebraska

The Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, the largest long-term investment in our infrastructure and competitiveness in nearly a century.

The need for action in Nebraska is clear and recently released state-level data demonstrates that the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act will deliver for Nebraska. For decades, infrastructure in Nebraska has suffered from a systemic lack of investment.

The historic Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act will make life better for hundreds of thousands of Nebraska residents, create a generation of good-paying union jobs and economic growth, and position the United States to win the 21st century.

Specifically, the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act will:

Repair and rebuild our roads and bridges with a focus on climate change mitigation, resilience, equity, and safety for all users, including cyclists and pedestrians.

In Nebraska, there are 1,302 bridges and over 1,125 miles of highway in poor condition. Since 2011, commute times have increased by 6.6% in Nebraska, and on average, each driver pays $461 per year in costs due to driving on roads in need of repair. The Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act is the single largest dedicated bridge investment since the construction of the interstate highway system.

Based on formula funding alone, Nebraska would expect to receive $2 billion for federal-aid highway apportioned programs and $225 million for bridge replacement and repairs under the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act over five years.

Nebraska can also compete for the $12.5 billion Bridge Investment Program for economically significant bridges and nearly $16 billion of national funding in the bill dedicated for major projects that will deliver substantial economic benefits to communities.

Improve healthy, sustainable transportation options for millions of Americans.

Nebraskans who take public transportation spend an extra 82.5% of their time commuting and non-White households are 4.7 times more likely to commute via public transportation. 19% of transit vehicles in the state are past useful life.

Based on formula funding alone, Nebraska would expect to receive $186 million over five years under the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act to improve public transportation options across the state.

Build a network of EV chargers to facilitate long-distance travel and provide convenient charging options.

The U.S. market share of plug-in electric vehicle (EV) sales is only one-third the size of the Chinese EV market. The President believes that must change. The bill invests $7.5 billion to build out the first-ever national network of EV stations.

These values are estimates and may change based on updated factor data each fiscal year.  Transit formula funding amounts are subject to changes resulting from the 2020 census or from annual transit service data reported to FTA’s National Transit Database.

This is  a critical element in the Biden-Harris Administration’s plan to accelerate the adoption of EVs to address the climate crisis and support domestic manufacturing jobs. Under the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, Nebraska would expect to receive $30 million over five years to support the expansion of an EV charging network in the state.

Nebraska will also have the opportunity to apply for the $2.5 billion in grant funding dedicated to EV charging.

Help connect every American to reliable high-speed internet.

Broadband internet is necessary for Americans to do their jobs, to participate equally in school learning, health care, and to stay connected. Yet 13% of Nebraska households do not have an internet subscription, and 2% of Nebraskans live in areas where, under the FCC’s benchmark, there is no broadband infrastructure.

Under the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, Nebraska will receive a minimum allocation of $100 million to help provide broadband coverage across the state, including providing access to at least 33,650 Nebraskans who currently lack it. And, under the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, 449,000 or 24% of people in Nebraska will be eligible for the Affordability Connectivity Benefit, which will help low-income families afford internet access.

Prepare more of our infrastructure for the impacts of climate change, cyber attacks, and extreme weather events.

From 2010 to 2020, Nebraska has experienced 23 extreme weather events, costing the state up to $20 billion in damages. Under the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, based on historical formula funding levels, Nebraska will expect to receive $16.8 million over five years to protect against wildfires and $12.7 million to protect against cyberattacks.

Nebraskans will also benefit from the bill’s historic $3.5 billion national investment in weatherization which will reduce energy costs for families.

Deliver clean drinking water to every American and eliminate the nation’s lead service lines and pipes.

Currently, up to 10 million American households and 400,000 schools and child care centers lack safe drinking water. Under the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, based on the traditional state revolving fund formula, Nebraska will expect to receive $358 million over five years to improve water infrastructure across the state and ensure that clean, safe drinking water is a right in all communities.

Improve our nation’s airports. The United States built modern aviation, but our airports lag far behind our competitors.

Under the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, airports in Nebraska would receive approximately $111 million for infrastructure development for airports over five years.

Over the coming days and weeks, we will expect to receive additional data on the impact of the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act in Nebraska.

The Build Back Better Framework Will Deliver for Nebraska

President Biden’s Build Back Better framework will bring down costs that have held back families in Nebraska for decades by cutting taxes and making child care, home care, education, health care, and housing more affordable.

These investments will provide new learning opportunities for children, help parents and especially working parents make ends meet, and position the economy for stronger growth for years to come. The framework will create good-paying jobs for residents of Nebraska, combating climate change, giving our kids cleaner air and water, and making America the leader in global innovation and 21st century manufacturing.

The Build Back Better framework will:

Deliver the largest investment in child care and early education in history.

Provide access to affordable child care. Child care is a major strain for families in Nebraska, where the average annual cost of a child care center for a toddler is $11,700, meaning that a Nebraska family with two young children would on average spend 25% of their income on child care for one year.

The lack of affordable options also makes it difficult for parents, and especially mothers, to remain in their jobs, contributing to the 17.8% gender gap in workforce participation between mothers and fathers in Nebraska.

The Build Back Better framework will enable Nebraska to provide access to child care for 143,309 young children (ages 0-5) per year from families earning under 2.5 times the state median income (about $225,654 for a family of 4) and ensure these families pay no more than 7% of their income on high-quality child care.

Provide universal, high-quality, free preschool for every 3- and 4-year old in America.

Today, only 15% of the 59,758 3- and 4-year-olds in Nebraska have access to publicly-funded preschool, and it costs about $8,600 per year for those who can’t access a publicly-funded program.

The Build Back Better framework will enable Nebraska to expand access to free, high-quality preschool to more than 50,849 additional 3- and 4-year-olds per year and increase the quality of preschool for children who are already enrolled.

Parents will be able to send their children to the preschool setting of their choice—from public schools to child care providers to Head Start—leading to lifelong educational benefits, allowing more parents to go back to work, and building a stronger foundation for Nebraska’s future economic competitiveness.

Make the largest effort to combat climate change in American history.

From 2010 to 2020, Nebraska experienced 23 extreme weather events, costing up to $20 billion in damages.The Build Back Better framework will set the United States on course to meet its climate targets—a 50-52% reduction in greenhouse gas emissions below 2005 levels by 2030—in a way that creates good-paying union jobs, grows domestic industries, and advances environmental justice.

The framework represents the largest ever single investment in our clean energy economy—across buildings, transportation, industry, electricity, agriculture, and climate-smart practices in our lands and waters. And the framework will create a new Civilian Climate Corps that will enlist a diverse generation of Nebraskans in conserving our public lands, bolstering community resilience, and addressing the changing climate, all while putting good-paying union jobs within reach.

In clean energy and in other sectors, the Build Back Better framework will also strengthen domestic manufacturing and supply chains for critical goods, benefiting American businesses, workers, consumers, and communities.

Cut taxes and reduce some of the largest expenses for workers and families.

Make education beyond high school more affordable and accessible. The average cost of a 2-year degree in Nebraska is $3,408 per year, and $9,093 per year for a 4-year degree, straining many student budgets.To help unlock the opportunities of an education beyond high school, the Build Back Better framework will increase maximum Pell Grant awards by $550 for students at public and private non-profit institutions, supporting the 31,413 students in Nebraska who rely on Pell.

The framework will also invest in minority-serving institutions and the students they serve across the country, including Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs), Tribal Colleges and Universities (TCUs), and Hispanic-serving institutions (HSIs).

Train America’s workers for the jobs of the future.

Of the world’s biggest economies, the United States is second to last in investing in workforce development, and funding for federal job training programs has dropped by almost half since 2001.

The Build Back Better framework invests in training programs that will prepare Nebraska’s workers for high-quality jobs in fast-growing sectors like public health, child care, manufacturing, IT, and clean energy.

Provide nutritious food options for children.

Thirteen percent of children in Nebraska live in food-insecure households, harming their long-term health and ability to succeed in school.

The Build Back Better framework will ensure that the nutritional needs of Nebraska’s children are met by expanding access to free school meals to an additional 122,000 students during the school year and providing 160,512 students with resources to purchase food over the summer.

Reduce housing costs and expand housing options.

Some 101,000 renters in Nebraska are rent-burdened, meaning they spend more than 30% of their income on rent, while homeownership remains out of reach for many families. The Build Back Better framework will expand rental assistance for Nebraska renters, while also increasing the supply of high-quality housing through the construction and rehabilitation of over 1 million affordable housing units nationwide.

It will address the capital needs of the entire public housing stock in America and it includes one of the largest investments in down payment assistance in history, enabling more first-generation homebuyers to
purchase their first home.

Expand health care coverage and lower costs.

Health care should be a right, not a privilege, and residents of Nebraska facing illness should never have to worry about how they are going to pay for treatment.

The Build Back Better framework will close the Medicaid coverage gap to help millions of Americans gain health insurance, extend through 2025 the American Rescue Plan’s health insurance premium reductions for those who buy coverage on their own, and help older Americans
access affordable hearing care by expanding Medicare.

In Nebraska, that means 18,000 uninsured people will gain coverage and 18,600 will on average save hundreds of dollars per year.

In addition, the Build Back Better framework will support maternal health and invest in national preparedness for future pandemics.

Support families with long-term care needs.

The need for high-quality, accessible, and affordable care for older Americans and disabled Americans is only growing, but high costs and care shortages leave many to rely on family for unpaid caregiving.

The Build Back Better framework will expand access to home- and community-based care to more of Nebraska’s senior citizens and disabled citizens, and improve the quality and wages of caregiving jobs.

Cut taxes for families and workers.

Prior to the pandemic, 9% of children under the age of 18 in Nebraska lived in poverty. The Build Back Better framework will bolster
financial security and spur economic growth in Nebraska by reducing taxes on the middle class and those striving to break into it.

The framework will extend Child Tax Credit (CTC) increases of $300/month per child under 6 or $250/month per child ages 6 to
17.

This will continue the largest one-year reduction in child poverty in history. And critically, the agreement includes permanent refundability for the Child Tax Credit, meaning that the neediest families will continue to receive the full Child Tax Credit over the long-run.

The framework will also provide a tax cut of up to $1,500 in tax cuts for
101,000 low-wage workers in Nebraska by extending the American Rescue Plan’s Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) expansion.