2019 Morrison Exon Fundraiser with Speaker Nancy Pelosi


The Morrison Exon fundraising event featuring House Speaker Nancy Pelosi is scheduled for Oct. 26, 2019 from 6 p.m. to 9 p.m. at the Hilton hotel (1001 Cass Street, Omaha). At the event, we present awards to hard-working volunteers and hear from state and national speakers. 

Tickets for purchase have now been closed. If you have any questions about tickets, please email info@nebraskademocrats.org.

The Morrison Exon event is being held in conjunction with our Big Blue Weekend: SCC Meeting, Blue Bench Training, Black Caucus Event. 

You can book your room at the Hilton. Hotel rooms are $99 per night at the Hilton Omaha and can be booked here.

If you have any questions, please email info@nebraskademocrats.org

Morrison Exon Volunteer Awards

Every year we celebrate volunteers, county party leaders and elected officials who put the hard work in every day to build the Democratic Party. The awards winners will be announced at the event on Oct. 26.

Note: This year we are proud to announce we have re-named various awards to reflect Nebraska leaders including Anne Boyle, Ben Nelson and Frank LaMere.

State Party Chair Award
Nominations are not accepted for this award. The State Party Chair designates a person in the Party for this annual award.

Sunshine Award
Nominees should be individuals who are dedicated to improving both the Nebraska Democratic Party and their community as an ally to our Democratic values. The award is open to any ally working or volunteering in the community and do not have to be serving in a party role. This award is given in honor of Carrie Howard, sister of Senator Sara Howard and daughter of Senator Gwen Howard.

Anne Boyle Young Democrat Award
Nominees for this award should be a young person (using the age criteria of the Young Democrats which is under 35-years-old) honored for their exceptional volunteer activities and participation within the Nebraska Young Democrats organization and the State Party. Commissioner Anne Boyle was the first woman to serve on the Public Service Commission and served three, six-year terms beginning in1996. Boyle was our State Party Chair from 1998 to 2001. Boyle was committed to lifting young people up and mentoring fellow Democrats.

Bob Kerrey Volunteer Award
Nominees for this award should be volunteers who personify the spirit of the Nebraska Democratic Party. The award is given to an individual who is tireless in supporting the Nebraska Democratic Party, county parties and candidates’ campaigns within District 1, 2, and 3, respectively. An award is given to one volunteer per Congressional District. An award is given to one volunteer per Congressional District. Bob Kerrey served our state as Governor from 1983 to 1987, as a U.S.  Senator from 1989 to 2001 and was a candidate for the Democratic presidential nomination in 1992. Kerrey served our nation on the 9/11 Commission and was awarded the Medal of Honor for his service during Vietnam as a Navy SEAL.

Ben Nelson County Party Volunteer Award
Nominees should be a County Party volunteer who has worked tirelessly to promote the activities and values of the Democratic Party in their county. Nominees should demonstrate a dedication to service, integrity, the organizing of their county party infrastructure, and support for local Democratic candidates. Senator Ben Nelson served our state as Governor from 1991 to 1999  and as U.S. Senator from 2001 to 2013. Nelson founded the CHIP program ensuring kids in our state had access to health insurance. A champion for the environment and property rights, Nelson denied a nuclear waste dump from being built in the Sandhills.

Frank LaMere Hall of Fame Award
Nominees should be a former or current elected County Party officer, State Party officer or an elected official who are dedicated to the principles of the Nebraska Democratic Party and who have contributed above and beyond the call of duty to the Nebraska Democratic Party along with local issues that impact the state and national level. This is the highest award given by the Nebraska Democratic Party. Frank LaMere was the first Native American to serve as a DNC member and he founded both the state and national Native American Caucus. LaMere was the longest serving Native American on the DNC. He was a delegate to the Democratic National Convention seven consecutive times from 1988 to 2012. LaMere also served as the NDP’s First Associate Chair. LaMere dedicated his life to social justice and helped close down illegal beer sales at Whiteclay, NE, just across the border from the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation.

Read more about past award winners.

Like this article?