Press release: House votes to impeach Trump; Bacon, Fortenberry and Smith still follow GOP party line

The U.S. House of Representatives voted  232 to 197 on Wednesday to approve an article of impeachment against President Trump for inciting an insurrection that attacked the Capitol last week — with Republican Reps. Don Bacon, Jeff Fortenberry and Adrian Smith predictably voting against the measure. 

The vote marks the first time in our nation’s history where a sitting president saw two impeachment proceedings. The vote was a clear bi-partisan rebuke on Trump.

“Bacon, Fortenberry and Smith are weak politicians who cannot even stand up to Trump when he incites a radical mob,” said NDP Chair Jane Kleeb. “They have stood silent and enabled Trump’s reckless behavior the past four years. A vote against impeachment was a tacit endorsement of last week’s insurrection on the Capitol, which resulted in death and destruction — including that of a Capitol police officer beaten with a fire extinguisher. Nebraska Republicans have zero courage — so it will now be up to the voters and our party to elect people with a backbone in 2022.”

Like this article?