Press Release: Nebraska Democratic Party supports decision to hold Democratic National Convention online

The Democratic National Committee announced Wednesday that the party’s National Convention, originally planned for Milwaukee on August 17-20, would be held online due to events over the coronavirus.

Read the DNC new release here.

“Nebraska Democrats elected a diverse team of delegates for the National Convention who will now attend the events virtually to protect everyone’s health,” said NDP Chair Jane Kleeb. “As plans get finalized, we will announce how we will participate from Nebraska including possible watch parties if public health standards allow.”

The NDP has 33 delegates to participate in the National Convention along with three Standing Committee Members and two pages. 

The Automatic Delegates to the National Convention are the current State Party officers including Chair Jane Kleeb, First Associate Chair Richard Register, National Committeewoman Patty Zieg and National Committeeman Ron Kaminski.

Chair Jane Kleeb will also serve as the Delegation Chair.

The Party Leader and Elected Official (PLEO) Delegates are state Sens. Sara Howard, Steve Lathrop, and Patty Pansing-Brooks.

Elected to the national convention as At-Large Delegates are Bud Pettigrew, NSEA President Jennifer Benson, Matthew Cavanaugh, Tiffany Hobbs-Banks, Jo-el Chiles and Sharlette Schwenninger.

Delegates elected at the Congressional District level to the national convention are: 

CD1 — Lancaster County Commissioner Sean Flowerday, Gina Frank, William Forsee, Charlene Ligon, Lancaster County Public Defender Joe Nigro, Lancaster County Commissioner Christa Yoakum and Joe Shaw.

CD2 — Spencer Danner, Preston Love Jr.,Trevor Fitzgerald, Benjamin Cass, Dee Austin, Dulce Sherman, Omaha Public Schools board member Kimara Snipe, Gladys Harrison and Lacey Merica.

CD3 — James R. “Doc” Moore, Paul Theobald, Cynthia LaMere and Judith A. Vohland.

Elected as alternate Delegates to the national convention were Janet Chung (CD1) and Clarence “C.J.” King (CD2).

Elected as Standing Committee Members to the National Convention are:

Rules Committee: Senator Adam Morfeld

Platform Committee: Shirl Mora James

Credential Committee: Nebraska AFL-CIO President Sue Martin

Appointed as Pages to the National Convention: Ron Rivera and Fatima Flore-Lagunas.


Like this article?